这是本节的多页打印视图。 点击此处打印.

返回本页常规视图.

概述

Selenium适合你吗? 请参见不同项目组件的概述.

Selenium 不仅仅是一个工具或 API, 它还包含许多工具.

WebDriver

如果您开始使用桌面网站测试自动化, 那么您将使用 WebDriver APIs. WebDriver 使用浏览器供应商提供的浏览器自动化 API 来控制浏览器和运行测试. 这就像真正的用户正在操作浏览器一样. 由于 WebDriver 不要求使用应用程序代码编译其 API, 因此它本质上不具有侵入性. 因此, 您测试的应用程序与实时推送的应用程序相同.

Selenium IDE

Selenium IDE (Integrated Development Environment 集成开发环境) 是用来开发 Selenium 测试用例的工具. 这是一个易于使用的 Chrome 和 Firefox 浏览器扩展, 通常是开发测试用例最有效率的方式. 它使用现有的 Selenium 命令记录用户在浏览器中的操作, 参数由元素的上下文确定. 这不仅节省了开发时间, 而且是学习 Selenium 脚本语法的一种很好的方法.

Grid

Selenium Grid允许您在不同平台的不同机器上运行测试用例. 可以本地控制测试用例的操作, 当测试用例被触发时, 它们由远端自动执行.

当开发完WebDriver测试之后, 您可能需要在多个浏览器和操作系统的组合上运行测试. 这就是 Grid 的用途所在.

1 - 深度介绍

Selenium 是一系列工具和库的综合项目,这些工具和库支持 web 浏览器的自动化。

Selenium 控制网页浏览器

Selenium 有很多功能, 但其核心是 web 浏览器自动化的一个工具集, 它使用最好的技术来远程控制浏览器实例, 并模拟用户与浏览器的交互。

它允许用户模拟终端用户执行的常见活动;将文本输入到字段中,选择下拉值和复选框,并单击文档中的链接。 它还提供许多其他控件,比如鼠标移动、任意 JavaScript 执行等等。

虽然 Selenium 主要用于网站的前端测试,但其核心是浏览器用户代理库。 这些接口在应用程序中无处不在,它们鼓励与其他库进行组合,以满足您的目的。

一个接口来统治它们

该项目的指导原则之一是支持所有(主要)浏览器技术的通用接口。 Web 浏览器是非常复杂的,高度工程化的应用程序, 以完全不同的方式执行它们的操作,但是在执行这些操作时,它们通常看起来是一样的 即使文本以相同的字体呈现,图像也会显示在相同的位置,并且链接会将您带到相同的目的地。 下面发生的事情就像白天和黑夜一样不同。 Selenium “抽象”了这些差异,向编写代码的人隐藏了它们的细节和复杂性。 这允许您编写几行代码来执行一个复杂的工作流程, 但是这几行代码将在 Firefox、 Internet Explorer、 Chrome 和所有其他支持的浏览器上执行。

工具和支持

Selenium 的极简设计方法使其具有通用性,可以作为更大应用程序中的组件。 Selenium 保护伞下提供的周边基础设施为您提供了组合自己的 浏览器 grid 的工具, 因此测试就可以跨一系列机器在不同的浏览器和多个操作系统上运行。

想象一下, 服务器机房或数据中心的一组计算机同时启动浏览器,访问站点的链接、表单和表格 — 全天 24 小时测试应用程序。 通过为最常见的语言提供的简单编程接口, 这些测试将不知疲倦地并行运行, 当错误发生时向您报告。

通过为用户提供工具和文档, 不仅可以控制浏览器, 还可以方便地扩展和部署这些grid, 从而帮助您实现这一目标。

谁在使用 Selenium

世界上许多最重要的公司都在基于浏览器的测试中采用了 Selenium, 这常常取代了多年来涉及其他专有工具的工作。 随着它越来越受欢迎, 它的需求和挑战也成倍增加。

随着网络变得越来越复杂,新的技术被添加到网站上, 这个项目的任务就是尽可能地跟上它们。 作为一个开源项目,这种支持是通过许多志愿者的慷慨捐赠来提供的, 每个志愿者都有一份“日常工作”。

该项目的另一个任务是鼓励更多的志愿者参与到这项工作中来, 并建立一个强大的社区,以便项目能够继续跟上新兴的技术, 并继续成为功能测试自动化的主导平台。

This the multi-page printable view of this section. Click here to print.

Return to the regular view of this page.

Overview

Is Selenium for you? See an overview of the different project components.

Selenium is not just one tool or API but it composes many tools.

WebDriver

If you are beginning with desktop website or mobile website test automation, then you are going to be using WebDriver APIs. WebDriver uses browser automation APIs provided by browser vendors to control browser and run tests. This is as if a real user is operating the browser. Since WebDriver does not require its API to be compiled with application code, it is not intrusive. Hence, you are testing the same application which you push live.

IDE

IDE (Integrated Development Environment) is the tool you use to develop your Selenium test cases. It’s an easy-to-use Chrome and Firefox extension and is generally the most efficient way to develop test cases. It records the users' actions in the browser for you, using existing Selenium commands, with parameters defined by the context of that element. This is not only a time-saver but also an excellent way of learning Selenium script syntax.

Grid

Selenium Grid allows you to run test cases in different machines across different platforms. The control of triggering the test cases is on the local end, and when the test cases are triggered, they are automatically executed by the remote end.

After the development of the WebDriver tests, you may face the need of running your tests on multiple browser and operating system combinations. This is where Grid comes into the picture.

1 - A Deeper Look

Selenium is an umbrella project for a range of tools and libraries that enable and support the automation of web browsers.

Selenium controls web browsers

Selenium is many things but at its core, it is a toolset for web browser automation that uses the best techniques available to remotely control browser instances and emulate a user’s interaction with the browser.

It allows users to simulate common activities performed by end-users; entering text into fields, selecting drop-down values and checking boxes, and clicking links in documents. It also provides many other controls such as mouse movement, arbitrary JavaScript execution, and much more.

Although used primarily for front-end testing of websites, Selenium is at its core a browser user agent library. The interfaces are ubiquitous to their application, which encourages composition with other libraries to suit your purpose.

One interface to rule them all

One of the project’s guiding principles is to support a common interface for all (major) browser technologies. Web browsers are incredibly complex, highly engineered applications, performing their operations in completely different ways but which frequently look the same while doing so. Even though the text is rendered in the same fonts, the images are displayed in the same place and the links take you to the same destination. What is happening underneath is as different as night and day. Selenium “abstracts” these differences, hiding their details and intricacies from the person writing the code. This allows you to write several lines of code to perform a complicated workflow, but these same lines will execute on Firefox, Internet Explorer, Chrome, and all other supported browsers.

Tools and support

Selenium’s minimalist design approach gives it the versatility to be included as a component in bigger applications. The surrounding infrastructure provided under the Selenium umbrella gives you the tools to put together your grid of browsers so tests can be run on different browsers and multiple operating systems across a range of machines.

Imagine a bank of computers in your server room or data center all firing up browsers at the same time hitting your site’s links, forms, and tables—testing your application 24 hours a day. Through the simple programming interface provided for the most common languages, these tests will run tirelessly in parallel, reporting back to you when errors occur.

It is an aim to help make this a reality for you, by providing users with tools and documentation to not only control browsers but to make it easy to scale and deploy such grids.

Who uses Selenium

Many of the most important companies in the world have adopted Selenium for their browser-based testing, often replacing years-long efforts involving other proprietary tools. As it has grown in popularity, so have its requirements and challenges multiplied.

As the web becomes more complicated and new technologies are added to websites, it’s the mission of this project to keep up with them where possible. Being an open source project, this support is provided through the generous donation of time from many volunteers, every one of which has a “day job”.

Another mission of the project is to encourage more volunteers to partake in this effort, and build a strong community so that the project can continue to keep up with emerging technologies and remain a dominant platform for functional test automation.